💫 The feature is only available to shows on our Large Budget plan 💫

Document Access Levels let you limit who can edit documents in your show's workspace.

How the Feature Works

If your show has this feature enabled, every document in your workspace will have an access level of Open or Limited.

  • Open docs can be edited by any show member.

  • Limited docs can only be edited by designated show members. All other show members can read them and leave comments but cannot edit them.

  • New documents are set to Open by default.

Open the access menu to switch a script from Open to Limited or from Limited to Open. (You can set permissions around which show members are allowed to control access levels.)

When the access level is Limited, only selected people will still be able to edit the document. All other show members will be able to read the document but they won't be able to make changes to it.


How to Enable This Feature

  • If you are the Show Owner or an Admin, go to your Show Settings Permission tab.

  • Find the feature called Limited-Access Scripts and click Enable

  • Add users to the two permissions that are related to this feature.

  • Permission 1 controls who can manage the access level of any document in your show's workspace. These are the people who will be able to switch the access level of any document between Open and Limited.

    • Click Add Member and pick a show member from the list.

    • Repeat until all the appropriate people have been added to this permission.

  • Permission 2 controls who can edit documents when the access level is set to Limited.

    • All show members can edit documents when the access level is set to Open.

    • Only show members with this permission will be able to edit documents when the access level is set to Limited.

    • Show Members who do not have this permission will be able to read and comment on Limited-Access documents but not edit the.

    • Click Add Member and pick a show member from the list.

    • Repeat until all the appropriate people have been added to this permission.

In the example below, only Alice DuBois can manage the access level on all documents in the show workspace. Alice and Rob are both allowed to edit documents when the access level = Limited. Other show members will only be able to read Limited-Access documents.

If you'd like help enabling this feature, get in touch and we'll can walk you through setting it up!

💫 The feature is only available to shows on our Large Budget plan 💫


How to Disable This Feature

If you no longer want to use access levels in your show's workspace, you can disable the feature. Please note that disabling the feature will reset the related permissions and the access level of every document in your workspace will revert to open. Only the Show Owner or an Admin can perform this action.

  • Go to the Show Settings Permissions tab

  • Click Disable

  • Type your show's name into the box to confirm that you really do want to disable this feature.

Did this answer your question?