Scripto is designed to auto-save constantly, preserving your changes as you write. But sometimes writing means deleting, and later you might decide you need those deleted things after all. Auto-save will always keep the most current version of your script. But what if you cut a joke and now you want to put it back?

Snapshots, History, and Comparison View are powerful tools for preserving significant drafts or versions of your script so you can always get back to them.


What is a Snapshot?

A Snapshot saves your script at an exact moment in time, so you can always get back to it. Snapshots get saved to a script's Snapshot History. You can browse, read, or export any snapshot. You can also compare the current script to any saved snapshot to see what has changed.

How to Save a Snapshot

Scripto will automatically take snapshots at frequent intervals as you write. Scripto will also automatically take a snapshot when you perform certain actions like exporting the script or pushing to prompter.

But you can manually take a snapshot any time you want. Just click the Snapshot button in the editor toolbar. 

Snapshot your script anytime you have a version that you think you might want to get back to. It's especially useful to do at moments in the workflow when you're handing the script off to someone else for notes or edits. 


Snapshot History Panel

When you in the editor, open a document's Snapshot History from the panel on the left.

Click on any snapshot to read the script at the exact state it was at the moment the snapshot was taken.

By default, the Snapshot History panel shows all of a document's snapshots, whether they were taken manually or automatically. You can switch the filter between All and Manual if you just want to see the snapshots that were taken by someone clicking the Snapshot button.


Note that snapshots are read only. You cannot make edits to a saved version, but you can:

  • Copy text from a snapshot to paste back into your current script

  • Export the snapshot as a PDF, Final Draft (FDX), or Fountain file

  • Copy a link to the snapshot and share it with a collaborator


How to Rename a Snapshot

From the Snapshot History panel, click the ... menu

and select Rename snapshot

Change the generic snapshot name to something that's clear and descriptive, like "Act Two rewrite" or "Rehearsal Draft" and hit enter to the new name.


Compare the current script to any Snapshot

You can compare your current script to any snapshot to see what changed.

1) From the Snapshot History panel, click the ... menu on the snapshot that you want to compare to the current script.

2) Select either Revision asterisk comparison or Side-by-side comparison from the menu.

Side-by-side comparison

Side-by-side shows text of the current script on the right and the text of the snapshot on the left. Changes between the snapshot and the current script are called out, with new text highlighted in green and deleted text highlighted in red.

  • Changes Only is the default view – it shows only the changed text with a few extra lines of context. Unchanged sections of the script are folded away so you can easily see all the changes made to the document without having to hunt around.

  • Full Text will expand the view to show all the text of the script, even the parts that haven't been changed.

  • Copy Link will copy the URL of the side-by-side view to your clipboard so you can share it. If you're distributing a script revision, including a link to the side-by-side view of the current script compared to the last distribution gives people an easy way to see exactly what's changed.

To get to side-by-side compare, open the Snapshot History pane and open the ... menu on the snapshot that you want to compare to the current script.

Revision asterisk compare

The Revision Marks view shows the current script with revision marks showing where additions and deletions were made since the selected snapshot. New text is highlighted in green with a green + in the right margin. Deletions are indicated by a red - in the right margin, but the deleted text is not shown.

From this view, clicking Export PDF will generate a PDF with Revision Asterisks.


Create a PDF with Revision Asterisks

From the Revision Asterisk comparison view, you can export a PDF with revision asterisks. Click the Export PDF button in the tool bar. The PDF will be generated in another browser window or tab. From there, you can download the PDF or print it. 

Did this answer your question?