Skip to main content

Private Documents and Folders

Create documents that only you can access.

Written by Christiane Jory

Scripto is built for collaboration, but we know that sometimes people want to write on their own before they share their draft. The Private folder is where they can create documents and folders that no one else in the workspace can see or edit.


Creating Private Documents and Folders

  • You can tell private documents apart from shared documents because they have a blue private key icon.


  • When a folder is selected under Private, click the + to create a new subfolder or document.


Moving Private Scripts and Folders

You can organize your private workspace in much the same way that you can organize shared docs and folders.

You can put scripts into folders and folders into folders, with as many levels of private folders and sub-folders as you like.

  • Click on the ⠇menu of the script or folder you want to move and select Move

  • Select the destination where you want to move the script or folder.

  • Click OK to confirm your choice.

📌 The Move action is only for organizing items within your private workspace. If you want to move a private document out of the private folders and into the shared folders, you have to Share them.


Sharing Private Scripts with the Workspace

There are two ways to share a private script:

  1. From the Folder Browser

  • Open the ⠇menu for the script you want to share and select Share

  • Pick the folder in the Shared workspace where you want to move the document and click OK.

    • Note that in this view you’ll be reminded that once shared, a document can no longer be made private again.


2. From the Script

  • In the lower-right corner, next to the page count, click the private / blue key icon to open the Script Access menu.

  • Click the purple Share with entire workspace button

  • Select the shared folder where you want to move the document and click OK


📌 Sharing a document will move it out of your private folders and into the workspace's shared folders.
​

📌 Once you share a document, you can't make it private again.
​
📌 You cannot share a private folder. You have to move each document individually.


Did this answer your question?