Skip to main content

Member Roles

Everyone plays a part

Written by Christiane Jory

All members can view and edit shared documents in a workspace, regardless of their role. Owners and Admins have additional permissions, including the ability to:

  • Manage workspace settings

  • Invite or remove workspace members

  • Manage member roles and advanced permissions

  • View workspace members’ email addresses and open invitations in the Members tab of Workspace Settings

📌 There can only be one Owner per workspace, but you can have as many Admins as you like.


How to Make Someone an Admin

🔔 Only Owners and Admins can edit member roles.🔔

  1. Go to the Members tab of the Workspace Settings page.

  2. Find the person you want to make an Admin.

  3. Change their role from Contributor to Admin using the dropdown menu.


How to Transfer Workspace Ownership

There can only be one Owner per workspace. If the current Owner needs to leave removed the workspace, ownership must be transferred before they can be removed.

  1. Go to the Members tab of the Workspace Settings page.

  2. Find your name in the member list.

  3. Select Transfer Ownership

  4. Use the Choose New Owner menu to select the member you’d like to make the new Owner. You can scroll through the list or start typing to filter the options.

  5. Click Transfer Ownership.

💫 You are no longer the workspace owner. You'll remain a member with the role of Admin and you will retain your current permissions. 💫

⚠️ The new owner will inherit the permissions of the previous owner.⚠️


Did this answer your question?